Open Modal
On Air

Colorado Avalanche defeat Tampa Bay Lightning to win their first Stanley Cup since 2001


The Colorado Avalanche are the 2022 Stanley Cup champions, defeating the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-1 on Sunday night to win the series in six games.  It is the Avalanche’s third Stanley Cup in franchise history, and their first since 2001.

Steven Stamkos earned the first goal of the game in the first period, while Nathan MacKinnon responded and scored his 13th goal of the playoffs to even the game 1-1. At the 12:28 mark, Artturi Lehkonen scored the game-winning goal, with assists from MacKinnon and Josh Manson. Avalanche goalie Darcy Kuemper made 22 saves on Sunday. Lehkonen had eight goals and six assists in the playoffs.

Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar won the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player in the playoffs. Makar, who also won the Norris Trophy as the league’s best defenseman in 2021-22, recorded eight goals and 21 assists during the playoffs.

The Avalanche earned 72 wins on the year, tying the 1976-77 Canadiens, 1983-84 Oilers and 1995-96 Red Wings for most in a season (regular and postseason combined).

Editorial credit: Klara_Steffkova /

Related Posts